You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Band Of Riders > BoRn > The Garage
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2012, 04:49 PM   #1
PeaPod
Karate Kid
 
PeaPod's Avatar
 
Call Me: Rob
Location: CT valley
Odometer: 24000
Bike: '07 Ninja 650R
Posts: 654

Default Brake Perch switch between bikes?

Has anyone switched brake perch's between bike models?

I have a Ninja 650R and do not like the way the brake handle pivots. The pivot of the brake handle is too close to the handlebar and my fingers to produce a good squeeze on the handle with two fingers. I either need to move my hand to the outside of the grip and the middle of the brake handle to get a good compression, or use all four fingers, allowing the last two fingers to pull the handle in closer for stronger braking. I like the way race bike perch is designed with the pivot point moved towards the front of the bike, not near the handlebar/clip-on, allowing the brake handle to compress more easily. I would like to get one and mount it on my bike and do not see any issues other than clearance and master brake cylinder. Anyone done this or have any thoughts?
PeaPod is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-10-2012, 05:14 PM   #2
marshdrummer
Pit Boss
 
marshdrummer's Avatar
 
Call Me: Jay
Location: Central CT
Odometer: lots
Bike: 2011 R1 (street/track)
Posts: 4,794

Default

Switching to aftermarket levers make a world of difference. Contact ducatimichael for a good, affordable set.

Just for reference, I had he same issue on my TLR. once I bought Pazzo's (yes, the real ones), I fell in love. I've haven't run stock on any bike since. It's the way the levers are curved that makes the difference.

Last edited by marshdrummer; 11-10-2012 at 05:16 PM..
marshdrummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:50 PM   #3
Jonny Rocket
Jumping Past You!
 
Jonny Rocket's Avatar
 
Call Me: Jon
Location: South Windsor, CT
Odometer: 40
Bike: AHHRRRR ONE
Posts: 3,185

Default

What you can do is find the full handlebar brake set up from a newer ZX-6R, it is a radial cylinder and it will produce the effect you are looking for.
__________________
RIP Reed St. Pierre (Noxen) 3/23/08 - You rocked!

Advanced Traction
860-986-3469

Like us on Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/AdvancedTraction

OHLINS : K-TECH : ELKA : NITRON : TCX : WOODCRAFT
Jonny Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:33 AM   #4
soofle616
Keeper of "The List"
 
soofle616's Avatar
 
Call Me: Ian
Location: Durham
Odometer: lots
Bike: Pasta, rice, and a big lump of potato
Posts: 11,217

Default

Any master cylinder for 7/8" bars can be mounted up but here are the potential complications:

clearance - it will fit on the bars but you might hit fairings or dash while turning
hose - your brake hose probably won't fit (difference in length and/or angle of the fitting) and they're isn't likely to be an off the shelf solution which means measuring and getting a custom hose made (bout $100 depending on where you go)
switch - brake light switch is integrated into the master cylinder more often than not. They ALMOST always close the circuit when the lever is pulled but there are some weird ones out there. The bigger issue here is the need to splice the wires in since it's not likely to have the correct connector.

FWIW, a radial pump does NOT fit on my mille which is why i sold my rcs to Jay. Depending on the bike radial might not be an option for you so I would find someone that has a spare kicking around and test fit it before you spend any money.

Other than that, call mike and get a set of levers for your existing setup. They are adjustable so you can position the lever further out and get more lever travel before you hit your fingers.
soofle616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:47 AM   #5
Mr. Kurtz
Kurtacus Spartacus

 
Mr. Kurtz's Avatar
 
Call Me: Mike
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Odometer: 100,000
Bike: 04 R6, 88 ZX600C, 13 Ducati Monster 1100 EVO, 05 450 EXC, 03 XR100, 03 Ego, 00 Aprilia SR50
Posts: 25,262

Default

Count one more for suggesting a new set of levers. You'll save yourself a lot of trouble(installing levers is much simpler than replacing the brake master cylinder), a lot of money(used master cylinder with lever, possibly new lines, new fluid vs. levers from DucatiMichael), plus the new levers can add a little bling factor to the bike.
Mr. Kurtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:06 AM   #6
Jonny Rocket
Jumping Past You!
 
Jonny Rocket's Avatar
 
Call Me: Jon
Location: South Windsor, CT
Odometer: 40
Bike: AHHRRRR ONE
Posts: 3,185

Default

The ZX-6R master will bolt on to the 650 with out issue.

Ask me how I know.
__________________
RIP Reed St. Pierre (Noxen) 3/23/08 - You rocked!

Advanced Traction
860-986-3469

Like us on Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/AdvancedTraction

OHLINS : K-TECH : ELKA : NITRON : TCX : WOODCRAFT
Jonny Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:33 AM   #7
makct04
Too Short to drag knee.
 
makct04's Avatar
 
Call Me: Mo
Location: CT
Odometer: Couple
Bike: 600RR
Posts: 5,055

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonny Rocket View Post
What you can do is find the full handlebar brake set up from a newer ZX-6R, it is a radial cylinder and it will produce the effect you are looking for.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonny Rocket View Post
The ZX-6R master will bolt on to the 650 with out issue.

Ask me how I know.
^This.... I have the same master on my six fiddy aarrr!
__________________
Team Brown - LRRS #521
makct04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 12:57 PM   #8
CamaroJockey
Is it still a "mid-life" crisis at age 40?
 
CamaroJockey's Avatar
 
Call Me: Noel
Location: Meriden
Odometer: lots
Bike: TWINS! I fucking love twins! Wait...
Posts: 18,194

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonny Rocket View Post
The ZX-6R master will bolt on to the 650 with out issue.

Ask me how I know.

Yes... but will it give him any brake pressure since it was originally designed to be used with 4-piston calipers (I'm assuming that the 650 has 2-piston jobbies like an SV)? I can tell you, with absolute certainty, that a GSX-R radial master does not work with stock SV calipers. You can bleed it till the cows come home and you're not ever going to get good pressure in the lever.
__________________
LRRS/CCS Amateur #514 / RSP Racing / Woodcraft / MTAG Pirelli / Dyno Solutions / Tony's Track Days / Sport Bike Track Gear / 434racer / Brunetto T-Shirts / Knox / GMD Computrack

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Kurtz View Post
This place is about as family friendly as donkey porn.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhbubba View Post
Noel is my hero
CamaroJockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 12:59 PM   #9
csmutty
Freakin' Luddite
 
csmutty's Avatar
 
Call Me: Christian
Location: Pomfret
Odometer: Seventy
Bike: 1992 GS500, 1998 EX500, 2003 YZ125
Posts: 10,253

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GixerJockey View Post
Yes... but will it give him any brake pressure since it was originally designed to be used with 4-piston calipers (I'm assuming that the 650 has 2-piston jobbies like an SV)? I can tell you, with absolute certainty, that a GSX-R radial master does not work with stock SV calipers. You can bleed it till the cows come home and you're not ever going to get good pressure in the lever.
I know a few people who run the R6 radial master on the SV. Works great.
__________________
-Christian LRRS/CCS #856 ECK RacingGMD Computrack Boston | Pine Motorparts/PBE Specialists | Woodcraft | Street & Competition | OnTrack Media

2011 Pit Bike Race CHAMPION!
csmutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 06:53 PM   #10
PeaPod
Karate Kid
 
PeaPod's Avatar
 
Call Me: Rob
Location: CT valley
Odometer: 24000
Bike: '07 Ninja 650R
Posts: 654

Default

Thanks for the responses. My stock levers are adjustable and I have played around with the different settings but have not really found what I am looking for. I will probably try DucatiMichael's levers first, just for haha's. If they don't work out for me, I will look into the ZX set-up.

Makct04, you got the whole ZX front end on your bike, right?
PeaPod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bikes, brake, perch, switch

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
**HELP** Need brake side Woodcraft brake pedal and collar** The Snowman Everything Bike 18 09-25-2011 07:29 PM
clutch safety switch? SPR-GRN The Garage 10 09-13-2011 10:03 PM
Need: ZX6R Front Brake Light Switch ASAP Mercurial Gear, Parts or Accessories 2 08-14-2011 08:19 PM
can i switch oils? mwhitlock84 The Garage 5 06-08-2008 08:52 AM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contact Us - BoRn - Archive - Top