You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Band Of Riders > BoRn > Bull Pen
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2015, 05:40 PM   #21
NateM
Forrest Gump
 
NateM's Avatar
 
Call Me: Nate
Location: New Hartford, CT
Odometer: 55k
Bike: KTM 500 EXC, Triumph Sprint GT, Honda Shadow 750 ACE
Posts: 1,339

Default

I bought the zmodo last fall. the one in the link on the first post.
I found out what happened to my pumpkins...no other action for an entire year haha
2 of the cameras crapped out recently
NateM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 04:57 PM   #22
Marduk
Resident Hothead
 
Marduk's Avatar
 
Call Me: _____
Location: Yonkers, NY
Odometer: 30K+
Bike: SV650
Posts: 2,278

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DucatiMichael View Post
You will not find a motorized unit anywhere near that price range, they will all be fixed.
Just FYI - happy to say, this isn't true at all.

I ended up getting the Vimtag camera I posted earlier. Was $99. Does full pan/tilt/zoom remotely using an app on my smartphone. Remote recording to an SD card. Motion detection, night vision, and two way audio. Also takes snapshots. And can be viewed from a PC/Mac/tablet or smartphone Resolution is up to 1280x720. Comes with mounting hardware for the wall/ceiling if you want that.

I've only had this thing set up for a few hours, but I'm very impressed so far. Exactly what I was hoping for at a pretty nice pricepoint. I'm sure there are better, smaller, lighter, etc. units available, but motorized (indoor only) units can be had for $100.
__________________
Ad Astra Per Aspera
Marduk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2015, 12:55 PM   #23
OreoGaborio
Tony's Crack Pusher

 
OreoGaborio's Avatar
 
Call Me: Pete
Location: Topsfield MA
Odometer: 25,000+
Bike: 2003 Aprilia Tuono
Posts: 1,750

Default

Maybe take a look at this deal?

http://electronics.woot.com/offers/s...ref=cnt_wp_5_1
__________________
-Pete LRRS/CCS #82 - TonysTrackDays, ECK Racing, Ironstone Ventures
Pine Motorparts/PBE Specialists | Phoenix Graphics | Woodcraft | Motorcycles of Manchester | Street & Competition | MTag-Pirelli | AestheticRAIN | OnTrack Media

The Garage: '03 Tuono | '06 SV650
OreoGaborio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 11:46 AM   #24
01XJ
Vice President Palin
 
01XJ's Avatar
 
Call Me: Adam
Location: Windsor Locks
Odometer: 1
Bike: Street Triple
Posts: 3,711

Default

Bumping this. I have 3 cars parked outside plus the bikes in the garage. Had one small recent incident that's made me want to put something out front to record the front out of the house and driveway.

Ideally I am looking for one small camera I can mount outside on the front of the house to cover my driveway and garage door. I'd rather have it plug in but can hard wire if need be.

Would be tits if I could record it to a server, pay a small monthly feed or whatever and have the video stored for X number of days.

Think I just answered my own questions, that Zmodo system nate posted seems decent. The 2 camera system seems to be far from perfect but ahead of the competition in terms of being a true outdoor wifi high def camera.

Last edited by 01XJ; 06-23-2016 at 12:41 PM..
01XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 02:03 PM   #25
Joey Lawrence
Brown Prince of BoRn
 
Joey Lawrence's Avatar
 
Call Me: Joe
Location: Hamden
Odometer: 100K+
Bike: A pretty one that makes great noises & a dirty one old enough to drink
Posts: 11,277

Default

bumping yet again.

Recently picked up the Ring pro system. Figured I try out their doorbell system 1st. its been 5 days and I'm pretty impressed. By best friend's parents went overboard and picked up several cameras, along with the door bells.

I'd give it a 10/10 for ease of use and idiot proof set up
__________________
2nd owner of theHawhandcordone

WHOA


#dirtyprince
Joey Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 01:06 PM   #26
SkinnyR
Karate Kid
 
SkinnyR's Avatar
 
Call Me: Mike
Location: Burlington, CT
Odometer: 40k
Bike: All sold
Posts: 597

Default

Anyone a pro with these NVR POE camera systems yet? I'm looking to set up a system for my house, and it is making my head spin trying to figure it out. I have a setup in mind, but don't know if it will work correctly before purchasing it, and/or if it will bog down the network.
__________________
RIP Reed. Never to be forgotten.
SkinnyR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 01:15 PM   #27
SkinnyR
Karate Kid
 
SkinnyR's Avatar
 
Call Me: Mike
Location: Burlington, CT
Odometer: 40k
Bike: All sold
Posts: 597

Default

I want to buy this system and put in 8 or so cameras all wired no wireless;

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...qh_dp_hza?th=1

The complexity is in splitting the system through the network and NVR. I'm not that familiar with this stuff.

My house has a separate garage. So what I want to do is run another Cat6 cable to the garage from the main router, and have a second router in there as an access point. That router will allow me to also have wifi in the garage. I will then plug in another 2 or 3 cameras to that access point/router 2 which would then become apart of the network. This is what is called a LAN to LAN connection I believe from my readings.

1. Would the NVR record all of this, even being on a bridged router/access point?

2. Is everything going to run slow, vs if I had the cameras plugged right into the NVR instead? What "slows" a network? Is it only slowed if you are accessing the cameras remote from your phone or somewhere else?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Security.jpg (43.4 KB, 18 views)
__________________
RIP Reed. Never to be forgotten.
SkinnyR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 02:24 PM   #28
db79
Forrest Gump
 
Call Me: Dave
Location: Southington, CT
Odometer: unknown
Bike: GSXRs, VFR
Posts: 1,809

Default

Would your router #2 have POE function? If not the cameras would need a 12v power source/POE switch.

The manufacturer appears to be responsive if you post your questions to the page. In general it should be possible but the manufacturer should confirm what is applicable to their system.
db79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 02:46 PM   #29
SkinnyR
Karate Kid
 
SkinnyR's Avatar
 
Call Me: Mike
Location: Burlington, CT
Odometer: 40k
Bike: All sold
Posts: 597

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by db79 View Post
Would your router #2 have POE function? If not the cameras would need a 12v power source/POE switch.

The manufacturer appears to be responsive if you post your questions to the page. In general it should be possible but the manufacturer should confirm what is applicable to their system.
I can power the cameras that are remote in the garage. They make splitters to do that part of it. My main concern is whether the whole network/bandwidth is going to be bogged down or not with so many cameras, and whether it is going to actually work as proposed. I have slow internet and don't want the system always slowing it down further. I think with the NVR and the way I have it switched, it won't be a burden, but I'm not sure.
__________________
RIP Reed. Never to be forgotten.
SkinnyR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 10:56 PM   #30
The Outlaw
Sir DUCalot
 
The Outlaw's Avatar
 
Call Me: K
Location: Manchester
Odometer: alot
Bike: 01 R6 Champs edition, 56 Ducati, 56 F100
Posts: 3,656

Default

These camera's run off of POE as mentioned but MUST be then directly plugged into the camera DVR. For two reasons. One the POE they run off of is a different voltage that the normal POE. Typical POE put out by most POE capable switches is a higher voltage than is used by these camera's.

The second reason is that the camera's need to be registered to the DVR via their serial number. If you are just trying to run them through a home router then they will not work as there is no way for them to connect directly back to the DVR and register. So unless you are setting up a specific VLAN with direct port to port pass through and redirection i don't think your idea will work. You'll have to run separate lines for each camera. That's what I did anyway and I have a similar sounding setup to yours. I have two detached garages that I wanted covered by the cameras.

I have since gotten a second 8 camera DVR system as I found the first 8 didn't cover everything I wanted well enough. So my house now has one of the DVR's and my main garage/shop has the second DVR and both have 8 camera's for a total of 16.

As I posted in this thread before I have the Zmodo system which seems to be pretty much the same as this. I've been very happy with it for the most part. Only real complaint is that sun shift and the shadows that come along with it set off the motion sensor and thus set off an alert on my phone. SO alerts quickly became noise.

The second is that two of the camera's I had setup when I only had one DVR we at the very end of the POE range. So I would frequently get video loss alerts. That has been changed by adding the second DVR.

The nice thing as the same app and log in allows me to view and get alerts on both systems. So I do not have to log out of one system and log into another.

Hope that helps.
__________________
"Did you ever hear the one about me giving a shit?..... If you ever did I don't remember it"

LRRS/CCS AM #559 / TTD Instructor #13 / RSP Racing / Woodcraft / MTAG Pirelli / Dyno Solutions / Tony's Track Days / Sport Bike Track Gear / 434racer / Brunetto T-Shirts / Knox / GMD Computrack
R.I.P. More than there should be....

The Outlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cameras, home, security

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vintage Cameras Tronix Random Crap 5 03-07-2014 09:33 AM
Wildlife cameras Desmolitonman Bull Pen 4 02-13-2012 05:26 PM
any rules regarding cameras? DucatiMichael BoRn Racers 18 05-26-2010 11:17 PM
cameras/ mounts ITGbuDeev Everything Bike 16 03-12-2010 02:52 PM
Do we have ticket cameras yet richw Everything Bike 12 11-29-2008 10:47 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contact Us - BoRn - Archive - Top