Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Considering Changing Careers

Default Considering Changing Careers

I am considering changing careers, I have a few things that I am considering, but want to know this from all of you

What do you do?
    Do you Like it?
    Is there special training required?
    Would you recommend what you do to others?
    Are you burnt out and considering changing Careers yourself?

My quick Background, I'm 31 I have 2 degrees in Graphic Design and Photography. I work as a designer for a children's book/greeting card company, I'm not completely opposed to going back to school, but don't want to if I don't have to, and it would have to be night classes since I have bills to pay.

Ideally I would like a job that at the end of the day I feel like I made some sort of difference to someone or something

Ready...............................GO!
    If My Jokes Offend You
    1. I'm Sorry
    2. It'll Never Happen Again
    3. 1&2 Are Lies
    4. You're A Pussy

I did 9ish years in IT behind a desk and was getting tired of it, not of the job or what I did day to day but just the way that mgrs were treating everyone.
    Then the economy tanked and did 3yrs at ATT as an installer, and I did actually like that job because of the work involved, I like to figure out problems and each install is a new problem, and was outside driving all over CT, but I had zero life as we worked 6 day weeks 10-14hr days.
    Now back in an IT job, Mon-Fri 8-4ish.
    Current mgrs aren't too bad, they really have no clue what it is I do, but everyone here seems to like me and I keep them from complaining to any mgrs about stuff not working, so this isn't your typical corporate office type environment, still a small mom n pop type office.

You need to ask yourself, will I go insane if I keep doing this, or do I just need to find another company or project that I might fit better.